Echuca-Moama and district golf notes | July 29 – August 5

Photo by Rodney Braithwaite

Rich River

Thursday, July 28:

Ben Docking and Troy Smith won by a big margin in the two-man ambrose event. Steve McCoomb has been in great form and combined well with Andrew Jacobs to finish in second.

By all reports Merv Rankin was not that impressed with his tee shot on the par three 16th when it left the bat, but the result was a pearler – a hole-in-one and a super-pin to boot.

A-grade: Ben Docking and Troy Smith (nett 60.25), 1st Andrew Jacobs and Steve McCoomb (63.25), 2nd Rowan Hill and Gavin Cole (63.25), 3rd Michael Lee and Greg McGill (63.5), 4th NTP : Ben Docking, Jack Sparks, Daryl George, Xavier Clark, Steven Smith, John Holderhead, Stojko Kresojevic, Jack Crawford and Steven Hunt.

Hole-in-one and super-pin: Merv Rankin.

Saturday, July 30:

Chris “Diesel” Jennings powered away from board member Mark Langenbacher to win the A-grade nett event.

Geoff Ronalds from Royal Fremantle Golf Club sailed away with the B-grade event from “Doc” Azzopardi whose handicap has come down impressively.

Stuart Milgate won with a couple of strokes in hand over Robert Casey and Len Adams in C-grade.

A-grade: Chris Jennings (nett 70), 1st Mark Langenbacher (70), 2nd Leo Langone (72), 3rd B-grade: Geoff Ronalds (nett 68), 1st John Azzopardi (71), 2nd Greasei Wallace (71), 3rd C-grade: Stuart Milgate (nett 69), 1st Robert Casey (71), 2nd Len Adams (71), 3rd NTP: Wade Jeffreys, Phill Smith, Bill Brodribb, John Bedford , Neil Findlay, Matthew Beasley, Darren Burr, Tim Nelson and Bob Young.

Eagle: Mick Badura 7 East. Super-pin: Bill Patterson.

Denise Hogben from Beacon Hills took out the ladies event from life member Joy Kelly. Josie Kirkman had another great day, finishing in the placings for the third Saturday in a row and winning the super-pin as well.

Women: Denise Hogben (nett 70), 1st Joy Kelly (71), 2nd Josie Kirkman (74), 3rd NTP: Gloria Bennett. Super-pin: Josie Kirkman.

Sunday, July 31:

There was a good field of 78 for the medley and the competition for the day was even. Thomas Flinn with plus three won A-grade from Brad Murray in second place with plus two, while Troy Kenny came third with plus one.

Regan Williams had plus two to take the B-grade win in a three-way countback to Judy Davey in second place and Trevor Mellington in third.

Monday, August 1:

Numbers were down for Monday’s competitions but scores were good, especially in the nine-hole stableford event, Liz Connick coming in with 23 points. Leonie Dunne was second with 19 and Vicki Riddington made up the top three with 16 points.

In the medley 18-hole round Mal Davey took the top spot with 36 stableford points and Chris Bronsgeest was second with 34 on a countback to Karen Slater in third. Chris added to his place win with nearest the pin on the third hole.

Tuesday, August 2:

Dave Whytcross pipped Brian O’Neill for the major A-grade prize and Ian Young did likewise to Dave Cockroft in B-grade. KD Martin has hit top form winning for the second Tuesday in a row. Sean McCambrage from Tathra hit one to just outside a meter to win the super-pin.

A-grade: David Whytcross (nett 70), 1st Brian O’Neill (70), 2nd John Bedford, (71), 3rd B-grade: Ian Young (nett 68), 1st David Cockroft, (69 ), 2nd Marc Cain, (70), 3rd C-grade: KD Martin (nett 68), 1st Barry McMillan (70), 2nd Peter Hazelman, (70), 3rd NTP: Brendan McCartney, Mark Roberts , Barry McMillan, Xavier Clark, Chris Bronsgeest, Ian Pollard, Ray Carr, Bill Patterson and Martin Camenzuli. Super-pin: Sean McCambrage.

Wednesday, August 3:

The women took to the east course for a stableford round playing off the white tees, making the course quite a bit longer, but players benefited from a few extra shots on their handicaps.

Unfortunately numbers were down, although the rain had cleared by hit-off and a beautiful day ensued.

Trish Williams played to her daily handicap, winning B-grade with 36 stableford points, the best score of the day.

Debbie Morden had 35 to win A-grade and Rosey Devlin took the super-pin.

Marcia Spiers, Sue Jenkinson and Dianne McMinn were accurate around the greens, taking two nearest the pin prizes each.

A-grade: Debbie Morden (35) 1. Josie Kirkman (34) 2. Lyn Kingston (31) 3.

B-grade: Trish Williams (36) 1. Karen Slater (35) 2. Leonie Dunne (33) 3.

NTP: On the third Marcia Spiers, Sue Jenkinson and Dianne McMinn. On the 13th (second shot) Marcia Spiers, Sue Jenkinson and Tracey Burton. On the eighth Nacole Horneman and Dianne McMinn.

Super-pin: Rosey Devlin.

Leave a Comment